Week 19 – California über Alles

Another good flight - I’m getting used to getting upgraded – and here we are in the US of A. After a small drama with the hotel not having our booking and being full, we called around from the airport and found somewhere just across the road from where we originally wanted to be. From LAX we headed straight out to the hotel in time to catch the fireworks at Disneyland which was just a block away. In fact, it seems everything is just a block away from where we are. Give me convenience or give me death!!!

 

The next day after arriving was our first at Disneyland. I think I said already that I was a bit sceptical about the whole America visit, but after today I am starting to change my mind. Everyone around us has been truly friendly (not the fake “would you like fries with that” friendly that I expected). Disneyland also has something magical about it and they are visibly trying to be the leader in this kind of family entertainment. We all had a great day and everything flowed really well. Everyone is glad we got the 5 day pass.

 

The next two days we took off to recover and just played in the pool, watched soccer and visited the Mall. Everything is so cheap and we are already in need of another bag to carry all the stuff. Skye has turned into a real shopping princess and has got around the money issue by drawing her own at home before we go out. We just give the shop assistants a wink and they take her “money”. She’s amazed at how easy it is to earn money and we are left wondering about the monster we have created ;-)))

 

After a couple of days of much needed rest, we headed back to Disneyland again, but this time to the California park, where we celebrated my birthday (thanks everyone for the well wishes!!) and then had a Pizza Picnic in the room for dinner. I’m still really impressed with the whole set-up here and how easy everything is. The only downside is that we are pretty much tied down to fast food for all our meals. The hotel does donuts for breakfast and I don’t think I could ever face one again. It is pretty scary when the 7-11 is the healthiest option for food. The scariest of all is Taco Bell. It should be illegal to sell 5 Layer Beefy Burritos for 79 cents. The whole family eats for under 10 dollars and we have already tried pretty much everything they have to offer. Probably a good thing they don’t have these in Germany ;-)

 

We’ve now decided on our last section of travel and will head down into Mexico for a bit. Just a couple more days of Disney and then down to San Diego for a bit before crossing over at Tijuana and into Baja California.

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 3
  • #1

    Amanda (Mittwoch, 14 Juli 2010 22:44)

    Hey guys, Thanks for the invite. We're not sure what we're doing in Europe but we'll definately keep you in mind and if we can swing it we'll drop by! Let us know your actual location. Also I remember you telling us abt where you stayed near Fussen? Cd you tell me abt that again? Finally, what's your advice on Disneyland - should we definately look at more than one day passes? We weren't going to because we're also going to Universal Studios. Ta for this.

  • #2

    Maty (Mittwoch, 18 Juli 2012 23:03)

    THX for info

  • #3

    greterewse (Freitag, 07 Dezember 2012 07:03)

    I truly wanted to construct a quick message in order to thank you for the stunning tips and tricks you are giving on this website. My incredibly long internet look up has now been rewarded with reliable suggestions to share with my friends. I would repeat that many of us visitors are rather endowed to be in a very good site with so many marvellous individuals with insightful plans. I feel quite privileged to have encountered your webpage and look forward to some more awesome minutes reading here. Thanks a lot once more for a lot of things.I wish to show my thanks to this writer just for bailing me out of this particular scenario. As a result of checking throughout the the net and seeing suggestions that were not pleasant, I was thinking my life was well over. Being alive minus the solutions to the issues you have resolved as a result of the article is a critical case, and the ones that might have adversely damaged my career if I hadn't noticed your website. Your main expertise and kindness in maneuvering every aspect was vital. I'm not sure what I would've done if I had not discovered such a stuff like this. It's possible to at this point look forward to my future. Thanks for your time so much for your skilled and result oriented help. I will not be reluctant to endorse your site to any individual who needs and wants guidelines about this subject.