Week 18 – OUCH – The world cup begins.

I think I might stay here and never go back to Germany after the mauling the Socceroos got in the World Cup opening game. Either that or go down to the local tribal tattooist in an effort to have some other pain to concentrate on. 4-Nil was pretty undeserving though, I have to say and the send off was just plain stupid.

 

Here on the island though everything continues at the same slow pace as always. Somehow, not that we are in tune with it, it is nice moving at this speed and not doing very much at all. The highlight are the bonfires we are building at night.

 

Mid-week, we moved to the other side of the island as the house we were in was no longer available. We stayed in the Rarotonga Backpakers right on the beach and it was nice to have some people around us again. On the Wednesday night we went up into the mountains inland for an “Island Night” which was lots of fun and the banquet was the most food we had seen in weeks. You wouldn’t think it was possible to eat that much Taro, but we all got stuck into it.

 

Other than that Australia did much better in the World Cup and Queensland spanked NSW to win 5 series in a row. There is no way possible that Australia can get through to the next round of the World Cup, but I would rather have Qld win “The Origin” any day. There was even a great fight in the game which just goes to show why it will always be much more of a spectacle than the soccer ;-))

 

From here it is off to the US. We plan on going somewhere lese straight away and don’t have any real inclination to visit America, but a trip to Disneyland is definitely on the cards. The kids can hardly wait.

 

In summing up the Cook Islands…

An amazing place if you want to get away and do nothing, but so expensive just for the basics. I keep comparing to Thailand / Malaysia where you can get much the same, but better and cheaper. I liked my time here, but don’t see any reason to come back, but I’m sure this is the place I will be wishing for when we are back and necks deep again. A lazy 7/10 for the Cookies.

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 2
  • #1

    greterewse (Samstag, 08 Dezember 2012 02:58)

    I truly wanted to construct a quick message in order to thank you for the stunning tips and tricks you are giving on this website. My incredibly long internet look up has now been rewarded with reliable suggestions to share with my friends. I would repeat that many of us visitors are rather endowed to be in a very good site with so many marvellous individuals with insightful plans. I feel quite privileged to have encountered your webpage and look forward to some more awesome minutes reading here. Thanks a lot once more for a lot of things.I wish to show my thanks to this writer just for bailing me out of this particular scenario. As a result of checking throughout the the net and seeing suggestions that were not pleasant, I was thinking my life was well over. Being alive minus the solutions to the issues you have resolved as a result of the article is a critical case, and the ones that might have adversely damaged my career if I hadn't noticed your website. Your main expertise and kindness in maneuvering every aspect was vital. I'm not sure what I would've done if I had not discovered such a stuff like this. It's possible to at this point look forward to my future. Thanks for your time so much for your skilled and result oriented help. I will not be reluctant to endorse your site to any individual who needs and wants guidelines about this subject.

  • #2

    nerereder (Samstag, 08 Dezember 2012 15:58)

    I truly wanted to construct a quick message in order to thank you for the stunning tips and tricks you are giving on this website. My incredibly long internet look up has now been rewarded with reliable suggestions to share with my friends. I would repeat that many of us visitors are rather endowed to be in a very good site with so many marvellous individuals with insightful plans. I feel quite privileged to have encountered your webpage and look forward to some more awesome minutes reading here. Thanks a lot once more for a lot of things.I wish to show my thanks to this writer just for bailing me out of this particular scenario. As a result of checking throughout the the net and seeing suggestions that were not pleasant, I was thinking my life was well over. Being alive minus the solutions to the issues you have resolved as a result of the article is a critical case, and the ones that might have adversely damaged my career if I hadn't noticed your website. Your main expertise and kindness in maneuvering every aspect was vital. I'm not sure what I would've done if I had not discovered such a stuff like this. It's possible to at this point look forward to my future. Thanks for your time so much for your skilled and result oriented help. I will not be reluctant to endorse your site to any individual who needs and wants guidelines about this subject.